Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF)

The educational programs at Timber Tots are underpinned by “Belonging, Being and Becoming”, the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) in Australia.

EYLF is the Australian Government’s national framework for early childhood education, and it is the key component of the National Quality Framework (NQF) that has been designed to encourage continuous improvement of education and care in all services throughout Australia.

The EYLF defines the principles, practices and outcomes to every early learning program and is designed to ensure all children from birth to five years and beyond will receive high quality learning experiences.

The EYLF has a strong emphasis on play-based learning, whilst also recognising the importance of communication and language and social and emotional development through the following learning outcomes:

Children have a strong sense of identity

Children are connected with and contribute to their world

Children have a strong sense of wellbeing

Children are confident and involved learners

Children are effective communicators.

Timber Tots provides specialized Kindergarten and preschool programs designed for children aged 3 to 5 and are developed in accordance with EYLF. These programs are taught by qualified early childhood educators and bachelor-qualified teachers.

As part of this specialized program, children are engaged in play based learning to develop early literacy and numeracy concepts and communication skills which will help their reading and writing abilities and give each child the important skills needed to help them enter school with confidence.

Further information about the EYLF is available on the Department of Social Services website. You can also download a copy of the framework.

Want to find out more?

Enquire today
More Timber Tales